Danya Institute Inc.

Board of Directors

  • Ron Manderscheid, PhD Open or Close

    Board Chair, Danya Institute | Executive Director, NACBHDD

    Dr. Manderscheid has been a member of The Danya Institute Board and became Chairman in 2019. He leads efforts to reform mental health and substance use care benefits in Medicare, Medicaid, and private insurance. His career spans the public, private, and academic sectors. He has served in numerous leadership roles at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) and at the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). He served for many years on the faculty of the University of Maryland where he taught statistics, sociology, and social organization. He currently is the Executive Director of the National Association of County Behavioral Health and Developmental Disability Directors and is an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Mental Health at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health.


  • Renata Henry, MEd Open or Close

    Executive Director, Danya Institute

    I have the overall responsibility for the management, growth, and development of the Institute, guiding all administrative, fiscal, training, and programmatic activities, and have primary responsibilities for supervision of the Institute's personnel. In addition, I serve as Project Director for the Central East Addiction Technology Training Center (ATTC), a federal government-funded program providing analysis and training to enhance the behavioral health workforce throughout HHS Region 3, which includes Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.


  • Jeffrey A. Hoffman, PhD Open or Close

    Board Member, Danya Institute

    Dr. Hoffman is Co-President of Save a Child's Heart and CEO/Executive Producer of Above the Clouds. He also founded Danya International and was its CEO for several decades before selling its operations to DLH Holdings. While there, he oversaw all aspects of Danya's strategic alliances and commercial ventures and is responsible for the strategic growth of the company. Jeff has more than 30 years of experience as an executive, clinician, and researcher, and has published extensively in a wide range of public health areas, including drug and tobacco addictions, HIV/AIDS, mental health, and family relationships. He initiated the opening of Danya International's East Africa office in Nairobi, Kenya, and led the public-private partnership pilot study, called Mobile Direct Observation Treatment, using mobile video phones to monitor TB medication compliance. Jeff served as Chairman of the Board for Danya Institute since its inception and recently handed over that role. He is also a member of the Board of Save A Child's Heart, which performs pediatric heart surgeries in Israel for children from Palestine and developing countries, and a member of the Board of the Corporate Council on Africa, the leading US-Africa trade organization.


  • Steven B. Owens, MD, MPH, MA Open or Close

    Director of Health Equity, DHPE

    Dr. Owens provides TA to state, local, and territorial departments of health to address health inequities through using public health systems and environmental change tools, and geographic analysis of market research data to plan and inform effective health programs. With an emphasis on health equity, Steven provides health department staff trainings on integrating social determinants of health into projects and activities addressing chronic disease prevention and health promotion. Additionally, he oversees the placement of DHPE’s health promotion and policy fellows at state departments of health. Prior to joining for DHPE, he led the Diversity Initiative for USAID’s Global Health Fellows Program. Steven received a master’s in biology from Hampton University, a master’s in public health with a focus on international health policy and management from Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University and a M.D. from the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University.


  • Steven R. Steiner Open or Close

    Chief Financial Officer, Open Technology Group

    Mr. Steiner founded Open Technology Group, a small business providing information technology services to federal government clients. Open Technology Group is committed to innovation and dedicated to improving the efficiency of government operations with secure, reliable, and sustainable technology solutions and numerous value-add services.


  • Robert Lubran Open or Close

    Independent Consultant

    Mr. Lubran is a consultant on projects focusing on prevention, treatment, and recovery from opioid use disorders including development of a medication assisted treatment (MAT) mobile application. He also reviews use cases involving integrated Medicare and Medicaid data to profile providers’ opioid prescribing patterns specific to dual eligibles, recruits sites to participate in a CDC funded national evaluation of MAT services, reviews a national MAT curriculum, and conducts SAMHSA grant reviews. Bob is a Board member of the Danya Institute, Stop Stigma Now, and the National Alliance of Medication Assisted Recovery, as well as a member of the American Society of Addiction Medicine. From 1997 to 2016, he led the SAMHSA opioid treatment regulatory program, which included certification of opioid addiction treatment programs and approval of physicians to prescribe buprenorphine. Other accomplishments included leading SAMHSA’s hepatitis prevention activities; directing the MAT Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIPS) series; and heading up the Agency’s global addiction efforts under the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief.